protest-bristol-11

Dear international community…

protest-bristol-11

Dear international community,

I hope you had a fine day. In fact, I am pretty sure you did. I myself, did not.
You see, today, in the city named Skopje, from where I come from, in front of the building in which I grew up, there are currently 400 policemen surrounding it. Peaceful protesters were arrested during the night, with the noble cause of saving one of the last remaining parks in Skopje, as the city is clogged with dust, dangerous particles and environment that sparks health problems.

This is not the first time. I’ve been woken up one night, some time ago, with the sound of the chainsaws. It was 4 a.m.. I cried as the old and big trees fell as the angry citizens were clashing with the police. Many, many of policemen, for just 30 citizens. Yes, we are not Gezi. But we are not the Turkish. Macedonia has not still recovered from the communist mentality. We had no resources for that. The governments after exploited that to the highest extent, killing all hope for citizen initiatives.

You see, international community, our parks are cut at 4 a.m.. People fall asleep and wake up in the ruins of what once was their favorite place. They feel sorry, they shrug, but anyway, they pack their things and set off to work, anyway, because they know that later in the day, something worse is coming. Forgetfulness and blindness are the only ways to survive this schizophrenic environment.

We are not Syria. Our children are not dying on the street, gassed to death. But my country is dying in another way. For the first time after going out of Yugoslavia, my people got a country, to build, to grow, to develop, to evolve. As the years passed, those dreams of democracy, prosperity and future of any kind are less and less, as we are going rapidly down on all measured markers. This has a huge toll on young people. We try to keep our heads up from the gutter, but it’s quick sand under our feet.

So what about us? What about all the young, ambitious people, all of that potential (and believe me there is), what about all of those future leaders and people that can change the world to be a better place if only they’re everyday life would not be tied to this fallen dreams? What is there to hope, what kind of future can these people imagine in front of them? As the current government is totally uncooperative, not letting any alternative thinking to take place, or any alternative action or movement to grow except their nationalistic, right-wing ideologies, how do we strive to build something anew here and become better people?

And yet, I hear today, I read in the western Internet portals, laws about “restrictions of movement of the citizens” coming from countries including Western Balkans are being voted. And I understand that very well. I understand where you come from, what backs your ideas, what is you point. And as much as I don’t like it, I agree. But I am writing this, you have to note – with enforcing the visas, you are sentencing a death note to all the potential here, that will be washed away together with the ruins of the fallen trees. And of course, I don’t mean emigration. The liberty of movement is very important so that young people like me can travel, visit, see, and come home to make the place they live in a better one. To at least, see that where they live, something is wrong. You are doing this tyrants that rule us a favor with these laws, and having the enormous capacity to help us, you’re denying it.

So send us your experts, let them come see how we live, talk to the bright here, but talk also to the hungry ones. And than, think again about restricting our mobility.

I wish you a great rest of the day, and I hope we speak soon,
Tamara

14 thoughts on “Dear international community…

  1. Yo, Tamy? ‘Sup, dog? I just wanted to tell you that I don’t give a flying crap about your minuscule problems. I have problems of my own, hope you understand and you don’t get upset … Word.

    Your’s truly.
    The international community

  2. Dear citizen of Skopje, here is how can we help you,it’s a bit risky but it is the only solution for your people in this moment. We will send you a box of testesterone injections, all your people have to do is inject itself with only one shot and hope they grow a pair of balls, if successful result will came automaticaly.

  3. The so called “park” was 25 by 25 meters and had 3 trees that were cut down and certainty was not “one of the last remaining parks” you can see that in google earth. So just like the “The international community” don’t give a flying crap for minuscule problems also the Macedonian citizens don’t give a flying crap :DDD

  4. Hey there. I’d just like to add my own humble opinion to this, for lack of a better word, discussion.

    Way I see it, this is not so much an issue of trees and lawns and children’s swings as much as it is about the relationship between the government and the citizens with regard to public spaces.

    Spaces like this park do not belong to the government or the municipality. It is not within their mandate to decide if they will plow over them and erect some pointless monstrosity. It belongs to the citizens, the people who use it every day for rest and socialization, for taking a break, sitting down and enjoying a quiet moment. I’ll not weigh that against the merits of a new Communications Council building, I’ll just ask you this question:

    What kind of a government reacts with violence to a peaceful protest? What kind of government refuses to enter in any kind of discussion with the people it purports to serve? What kind of government resorts to coercion as its first plan of action, rather than its last? What kind of government will refuse to compromise on something which its citizens feel very strongly about, if alternatives are available (and I’m sure there are plenty of free spaces in Skopje to cover with concrete).

    Answer me this and we can discuss trees later.

  5. Deer Deer, can you please tell me your bank account, we are a association who is helping people in distress, so we can transfer some amount so you can print flyers, rent a billboard or some other thing to fight your way try this, wish you luck.

Напишете коментар

